© 2017 by CF&D 

One New handgun Every Thirty Days
Only ONE new handgun every 30 days
California has a 10 Day Waiting Period.  Period.
California has a ten day wait on all firearms

This State-mandated waiting period begins at the moment you complete your in-store registration paperwork, the DROS (Dealer Record of Sale), and goes for exactly ten (10) twenty-four (24) hour periods.  For instance, if you complete/submit your.....

Don't ask why. You can register 10 AK rifles in one day, but only one .22 pistol.  You'll get a headache trying to make sense of this for, like most California gun laws, it is nonsensical.  But again, it is what it is.  This applies only to new handguns.  So.....

How To Buy A Gun In California

How do you buy a gun in California? In two words.....it's complicated.  Buying a gun in California is a multi step processes. It can even vary whether you live in the city of Los Angeles or Burbank. There are Federal, State and city laws that all have to be followed. California with few exceptions has become on of the hardest states in the union to buy firearms  But don't sweat it - we'll help you through it every step of the way.  Read through all of the info below and you'll be an expert!  Whether you're looking to purchase a handgun, rifle or shotgun, the bureaucratic hurdles and hoops are tricky but doable. What?  You expected California to make it easy!?

You'll need some very specific forms of ID, and a BFSC!
You'll need some very specific forms of ID, and a BFSC!
The BFSC (Basic Firearms Safety Certificate) Booklet
The BFSC
(Basic Firearms Safety Certificate)

The BFSC is really the easiest part.  To obtain the certificate, you just need to take a simple 30 question test, (you can take it right in the gun shop), and not miss more than 7 of the 30 questions. It will cost you $25. The certificate is then good for 5 years.....

You are proving two things with these documents - that you are who you say you are and you live where you say you live. This can be a bit confusing because of the specificity of the documents required.  Things one thinks should work.....  

The CA Dept of Justice Approved Handgun Roster

Most people don't know that California has already banned semi-auto handguns altogether. It's not obvious or acknowledged as a ban because of the insidiously slow encroachment - but within a decade at most, new semi-auto handgun sales will likely be.....

Private Party tranfers have to go through a FFL dealer
Gun sales between individuals (PPTs)

California law prohibits the transfer of firearms between individuals unless they are processed through a licensed firearms dealer.  A very few exceptions do exist - between immediate family members for instance - but, except in.....

Specific Forms of ID:

You are proving two things with these documents - that you are who you say you are and you live where you say you live. This can be a bit confusing because of the specificity of the documents required.  Things one thinks should work, don't. For example a Passport will not meet California and Federal Identification requirements.  But it is what it is, and one must comply with both Federal and State requirements. To start with, one must have a current (not expired or suspended) CA Driver's License or a CA Identification Card. After that, it gets more complicated. You must also have your BFSC Certificate, (which is covered in the next section), and a secondary form of address verification from their respective acceptable lists. If the address on the CDL or CID matches the address used by the purchaser on the 4473, only State requirements apply.  If the address on the CDL or CID does NOT match the address used on the 4473, both State AND Federal requirements must be satisfied. The lists of acceptable documents follow, with docs that satisfy both the Feds and the State in *bold. These lists are comprehensive and absolute.  It does no good to say. "But I have this or I have that..."  Whatever document or documents you use MUST be from these lists!

STATE:

*CA Vehicle Registration (must be current)

Utility Bill (must be dated within last 90 days) Cable/Internet/Home Phone/Gas/Electric/Water, NOT cell phone, wireless or trash bills.

Property Title or Deed of Trust

*Current Security Guard & Exposed Carry Permit Cards

*Current California Issued Concealed Carry Permit

Signed and dated Residential Lease Agreement

*Disabled Person Placard Registration with expiration date (not the actual placard)

FEDERAL: (Must be a govt. issued doc showing name, address and dated not more than 90 days from date of purchase)

*CA Vehicle Registration (must be current)

*Utility Bill (only if city or municipality owned, no Cable/Direct TV)

DMV Address print out (H6 Form)

Property Tax Statement

Social Security Document (NOT SS Card)

Fed or State Tax Refund (the actual check, not the tax return)

Unemployment Document

Voter Registration

*Current Security Guard & Exposed Carry Permit Cards

*Current California Issued Concealed Carry Permit

Hunting License

Jury Duty Summons

Important notice to Peace Officers - if your CDL address does not match the 4473, you must provide Federal proof of residency!

 

 

 

 

The Basic Firearms Safety Certificate (BFSC):

The BFSC is really the easiest part.  To obtain the certificate, you just need to take a simple 30 question test, (you can take it right in the gun shop), and not miss more than 7 of the 30 questions. It will cost you $25. After passing and payment, the certificate is printed out and issued immediately.  It is required for purchasing any handgun, rifle or shotgun in CA, and is valid for 5 years - or until the State changes its mind, whichever comes first. If you are so inclined, you can study for it here:  Basic Firearm Safety Certificate Study Guide

 

 

 

 

10 Day Waiting Period:

This State-mandated waiting period begins at the moment you complete your in-store registration paperwork, the DROS (Dealer Record of Sale), and goes for exactly ten (10) twenty-four (24) hour periods.  For instance, if you complete/submit your DROS at 29 minutes and 17 seconds after 2:00pm on February 1st, your pick-up date/time would be 29 minutes and 17 seconds after 2:00pm on February 11th.  This is for every purchase.  Every time. There are no exceptions to either the date or the time. Yes, it's a pain!  You just plunked down your hard-earned dough and you can't take your new gun home.  But there is an up side to this.  The anticipation will remind you of those times as a kid when, on December 15th, you started counting down the days till Christmas!

 

 

 

 

 

One New Handgun Every Thirty Days:

Don't ask why. You can register 10 AK rifles in one day, but only one .22 pistol.  You'll get a headache trying to make sense of this for, like most CA gun laws, it is nonsensical.  But again, it is what it is.  This applies only to new handguns.  So, conceivably, you could register a new handgun, a used handgun, a rifle and a couple of shotguns on the same day. But not two new handguns. Understand that this applies to REGISTRATION!  You can buy more than one new handgun at a time.  You can (and people do) have three or four or more new handguns purchased and in storage at your local shop.  They get stacked up like airplanes waiting to land at LAX.  Then you register one every thirty days.  Then wait ten days. Then take it home.  Ridiculous? Yup.  But that is California.

 

 

 

 

 

The CA DOJ Approved Handgun Roster:

Most people don't know that CA has already banned semi-auto handguns altogether. It's not obvious or acknowledged as a ban because of the insidiously slow encroachment - but within a decade at most, new semi-auto handgun sales will likely be a thing of the past. In order to be sold as a new (not previously owned) handgun in the People's Republic, a handgun must be on the state's "Approved Roster."  As of a couple of years ago, the State mandated that new semi-auto firearms must be "Micro-stamped" to be added to the roster. This technology does not exist.  Therefore, no new semi-autos have been added. And firearms on the list must be renewed every year.  One change, the slightest change, means the state considers it a new model - and off the list it goes. This includes ANY change!  For instance, if the Bango Arms Co. has an approved semi-auto on the roster which is made with a mainspring from ABC Springs, and they change suppliers to get the same spring manufactured by The XYZ Spring Co., off the roster the gun goes. Once off, it can never come back - for it cannot be micro-stamped with a technology that doesn't exist. As an example of this lunacy, there is the fact that some of the most classic pistols in the world - a Colt 1911, a Walther PPK, nearly all Ruger semi-autos and the S&W M&P CAN NOT BE SOLD IN CA! This is all being challenged in court but, in the meantime, here is the roster of firearms the State has approved for us to buy new:  http://certguns.doj.ca.gov/

 

 

 

 

 

Gun Transfers Between Individuals:

California law prohibits the transfer of firearms between individuals unless they are processed through a licensed firearms dealer.  A very few exceptions do exist - between immediate family members for instance - but, except in these rare cases, a Private Party Transfer (PPT) must be performed.  It is a registration procedure more than an actual "sale."  The financial transaction is conducted between the individuals. The only financial matter done at the licensed dealer is paying them for their time and paperwork which typically costs about $55.00. Both the seller and the buyer must be present at the same time in the licensed gun shop.  The seller need provide only a valid CA Driver's License or CA ID card. The buyer will need everything listed in the sections above, as if they are buying a gun from the dealer.  Once all paperwork is done, the standard 10 day waiting period applies. The seller need not be present for the delivery of the firearm after the waiting period.  The upside of all this is that it removes the firearm from the seller's name.